Snow is just around the corner. We had flurries last weekend. Excitement is in the air. Are you ready to enjoy snowmobiling?
SNOWMOBILE VERMONT - VERMONT ASSOCIATION OF SNOW TRAVELERS (VAST)
There are 29 Snowmobile Clubs throughout the state of VT. Check out their website at www.vtvast.org.
There are 3 clubs in the Mount Snow Valley -
Woodford Sno-Busters - www.snobusters.com
Deerfield Valley Stump Jumpers - www.dvsj.com
Wardsboro Pathfinders - www.WardsboroPathfinders.com
NOT TO MISS THIS SEASON -
Woodford Sno-Busters Annual Hot Dog Roast -
Saturday February 20, 2016 at noon in Somerset, VT
Wardsboro Pathfinders 20th Annual Rescue Ride-In BBQ Saturday February 27, 2016 11 am to 2 pm at the Stratton recreation Area in Stratton. $10.00 per person suggested donation.
WHAT DO I NEED TO SNOWMOBILE IN VERMONT?
Vermont DMV State registration ??
All snowmobiles, not legally registered in another state or province must be registered in Vermont. If you are already registered in your home state or province, you do not need to ?re-register in Vermont, but you must join a local club and purchase a VAST TMA (see below).?Registration costs? $25 for a Vermont Resident and $32 for a Non-Vermont Resident. ?Price is subject to change without notice.?Vermont State Registration Agents and DMV offices.
2015 - 2016 SEASON TRAIL PASSES (TMAs) ARE AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE THROUGH CLUBS AND DEALERS ONLY.
EARLY BIRD TMAs - Reduced pricing ONLY UNTIL December 15, 2015
REGISTERED IN VERMONT - $100.00
REGISTERED IN VERMONT - FAMILY - $84.00
(Must purchase two TMAs at the regular price before you qualify for the reduced family rate.
All sleds must be registered at the same address in order to qualify).
REGISTERED OUT-OF-STATE - $130.00
REGISTERED OUT-OF-STATE - FAMILY- $107.00
(Must purchase two TMAs at the regular price before you qualify for the reduced family rate. All sleds must be registered at the same address in order to qualify)
Insurance requirements ??
All individuals operating a snowmobile in Vermont on the statewide snowmobile trails ?system, shall have a liability insurance policy or bond in the amounts of at least $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for two or more persons killed or injured and $10,000 for damages to property in any one accident.?Persons caught operating a snowmobile without the required liability coverage are subject to large fines.??
Six-hour safety course must be completed and passed by anyone born after July 1, 1983.? Certified safety course ?Individuals 12 years of age or older must have taken a certified safety course and carry that certification with them to be presented upon demand of a law enforcement officer. Courses for this season can be found at -
Operating the snowmobile
Speed - You must operate your snowmobile at a speed that is reasonable and prudent, taking into consideration current conditions, trail traffic and other hazards present on the trail. Vermont Law, Title 23, Chapter 29?
The maximum speed limit on state lands is 35 m.p.h. The use of radar on snowmobile trails is becoming a standard practice. With the use of hand held radar guns, the enforcement of speed limits that are imposed on all state lands, has increased dramatically.?
Snowmobiles are subject to posted speed limits on public roads open to snowmobile traffic.?
Snowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI) Vermont has a tough SWI law. This law covers both drugs and alcohol. While you will be charged with SWI on the VAST trail system, intoxicated snowmobilers operating on a public highway will be charged with DWI. As a result of this violation, you will be assessed points and your driver's license will be suspended.?
If you are involved in an accident, resulting in personal injury, death or property damage in excess of $500, it is your duty to stop and report it to local authorities. You must give your name, address, registration number and the name of the owner of the snowmobile to the party whose person or property is injured. You must also file an accident report with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles within 72 hours.??
Your snowmobile equipment requirements
??o Headlight ?
o Red rear light ?
o Windshield free from jagged or sharp edges
?o Fully functional brake in good condition?
o Colored lens covers on headlights are illegal.?
o Windshields are mandatory or the operator must wear eye glasses, goggles or a protective face shield.
o Helmets are mandatory for all riders on the VAST trail system.?
?Efficient muffler and such other equipment and devices as may be required to meet the noise level specifications of not more than 73 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet in a normal operating environment.?
Replacement Exhaust System - It is against Vermont law to sell a replacement exhaust system that exceeds the manufacturer's original equipment specifications. Violation of this law will result in a fine of $500 for the snowmobile operator and a $500 fine for the person selling the illegal exhaust system. No by-pass of a muffler system is allowed. Sound pollution annoys many individuals and threatens the future of our sport.